Dynamic Pages

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynamic Pages

Hello everyone I am pretty new to PHP. I am building a website and I don't want the whole page to reload everytime the user clicks a link but I really don't want to use iframes. Does anyone know a way I could get this done using PHP??

Thanks in advance.

Yep, build the different parts of your pages as php includes.

The include code looks like this -

<?php include_once('includes/navigation.php');?>

This simple line of code replaces whatever block of html content you want to be located in a different file. The red text is the location of your include on your server. Then the browser need only load that block of content once, rather than every time the page changes.

I find the best way to go about this is to build your homepage normally, then break it down into bits - usually the header, navigation and footer of a page - which can then be saved as includes.

Hope that makes sense.

Comment

If you're talking about dynamic links (index.php?x=page), you can do it two ways, with cases or with includes.
      I lost my signature, have you seen it?
      I have the power to erase you...

Comment

I know about about the Include option but how would I go about linking it all together. I mean the whole page would still have to reload wouldn't it?

Comment

I don't think you can get PHP to act like IFrames.

Comment

The page would still have to load. Includes take the contents of the file included and puts it into the file as if it was typed in already. Do you know what I mean?
            So maybe there's file.html wth the contents of
            Code:
            <html>
            <head></head>
            <body>
            and you include it into a file called included.php, so the code's like this
            Code:
            <?php include("file.html"); ?>
            Stuff here blah blah
            </body>
            </html>