Syntax error??? Really???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Syntax error??? Really???

God I hate Adobe and especially Dreamweaver.

I was recently forced to start using Dreamweaver when my laptop died and I pretty much lost everything. I had to move to my desktop which has Adobe cs6 installed i.e. Dreamweaver.
    I have gotten really spoiled to using Visual Studio but don't have a viable install of it in my desktop so I find myself having to use Dreamweaver.

I am currently working on developing a new website and I'm trying to create a new Wordpress theme. I am beginning writing the index page and the first line in the file is

Code:
    <?php
        if (have_posts()) : 
    	while (have_posts ()) : the_post(); ?>
    Dreamweaver is complaining that there is a syntax error on line 3.
    Granted I am new to php but I am reasonably sure there is no syntax error on line 3
    I am coping this character by character from a Youtube video and I have checked, rechecked and double rechecked. My code is identical to the code in the video
    Does anyone have any clue why Dreamweaver is choking on this dirt simple 3 lines of code.?
    Anybody spot something I'm missing. ?

You use dreamweaver to edit or create wordpress scripts?
    Is it just the editor part of dreamweaver ... how does dreamweaver do wordpress?

Comment

Firstly, this is a php coding question, not a client-side or a web building question.

It would be helpful if you posted the syntax error you are getting, to narrow down the possibilities.

If the error happens to be an 'unexpected end of file' or similar message, it is because you haven't closed/ended both the while() and if() statements and the code is incomplete, i.e. php reached the end of the file while still expecting to find the closing syntax for both of those statements.