Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter Naming a variable from a form to be used in other pages - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Naming a variable from a form to be used in other pages

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Naming a variable from a form to be used in other pages

I am working on a text RPG project and want to incorporate a little server-side scripting. I have never used PHP before and tried to do some research on w3schools. I got only little of what I need. I have a home page that looks a little like this.

Code:
     <div class="content">
                <p>Welcome to Miriam's Quest!</p>
                <p>To begin, insert your name below!</p>
                <form action="job.html" method="get">
                    <input type="text" name="name">
                    <input type="submit" value="Continue">
                </form>
            </div>
    The "action" attribute seems to be the most troubling.
    This is what job.html looks like for now.

Code:
    <body>
            <?php
            $name = $_GET["name"]
            ?>
            <div class="header">
                <h1>Miriam's Quest</h1>
            </div>
            <div class="nav">
                <p><a href="home.html">Back to Start</a></p>
            </div>
            <div class="content">
                <p>Hello <?php
                echo "Hello $name ;
                ?>
                </p>
            </div>....
    The content should say Hello _____ (whatever the player filled out in the home page)
    Now obviously I cut parts out but I wanted to keep in the PHP. I toyed around with having a separate PHP file but it wasn't working either.
    If anyone could help me understand what I'm doing wrong it would be greatly appreciated. I iterate again that I have barely touched this script language but am looking to get better at it so a straight answer won't be as helpful as an explanation.