php include - deny access like IPB or phpbb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• php include - deny access like IPB or phpbb

Ok, i'm fairly good at php programming, I'm just new to the OOP part of it, so figuring out how to learn from forums like IPB or phpBB is hard for me.

What I want to do is have an index file, that will include other files to it.
    But what I want is so that those files cannot be directly accessed, the only way they can be used is if called by the index (includes the file when needed)

In IPB i noticed they have something along these lines:

PHP Code:
    if ( ! defined'IN_IPB' ) )
    {
        print 
    "<h1>Incorrect access</h1>You cannot access this file directly. If you have recently upgraded, make sure you upgraded all the relevant files.";
        exit();

im not working with IPB for my new project, but i want to keep my includes secure, and i've tried chmod'ing the files but then when they are included it says access not allowed lol, maybe i'm chmod'ing the files to the wrong code, but i'd still like to use the IPB style of securing those includes.

Any help on this would greatly be appreciated!
    -Thanks in advance, Mindless-
    trying to revive an old site...

PHP Code:
    if ($_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] != 'yourdomain.com'){
    die(
    'errors!');

Comment

hmm, maybe im doing it wrong, but no matter how i use that code you provided, it doesn't seem to work, i get Errors! printed every time.

Does anyone else know how to do this?

How does IPB make the file "defined" when its opened through index and not defined if its just opened by itself?

Comment

This is what I use at the top of my php includes.
        PHP Code:
        <?php

if(eregi("header.php","$REQUEST_URI")){die('This file cannot be accessed directly!');}
        ?>
        ||||If you are getting paid to do a job, don't ask for help on it!||||

Comment

olso you can use IPB phpBB style