Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter some advice and help with a db schema - haven't done this in a LONG time - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

some advice and help with a db schema - haven't done this in a LONG time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• some advice and help with a db schema - haven't done this in a LONG time

I haven't played around with my own database creation in a few years, and I see that MySQL has changed a LOT,
    and I've forgotten the little that I knew. I'm a real newb, and plan on sticking with WordPress development instead of raw db development...

I've put together a lengthy outline in html that i'd like to put into a searchable db. I'm simply outlining persons and their relationships,
    including organizations, where any one person can have multiple associations with any other person and any other organization.
    (Please see image of a partial outline) This is as simple as

» Barnes (knows) » ul li Moore (who knows) » ul li de Mohrenschildt ...
    and Barnes (also knows) » Hunt (who will also know...) » »»»

I found the following that almost does what I need, but i have no idea how to include Organizations and rel_types tables,
    (maybe relation table could contain rel_types for both persons and orgs...?)

Code:
    CREATE TABLE person
    (
        person_id INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
        PRIMARY KEY (person_id)
    );
    CREATE TABLE relationship
    (
        rel_id INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
        person_id1 INT NOT NULL,
        person_id2 INT NOT NULL,
        reltype_id TINYINT,
        PRIMARY KEY (rel_id),
        UNIQUE KEY outer_affinity (reltype_id,person_id1,person_id2),
        KEY has_relationship_to (person1_id,reltype_id),
        KEY has_relationship_by (person2_id,reltype_id)
    );
    CREATE TABLE relation
    (
        reltype_id TINYINT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
        rel_name VARCHAR(20),
        PRIMARY KEY (reltype_id),
        UNIQUE KEY (rel_name)