Blog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blog

I set up a blog area in my web page using asp.net. How can I prevent users from inserting images.

Thanks...

where ever the code is that inserts the code into the database, you need to run a check with regular expressions.

I persoanally would escape all the < and > signs to &lt; and &gt;

This will eliminate the people to use Javascript code in their blog entries too.

Eric
    Tech Author [Ajax In Action, JavaScript: Visual Blueprint]

Comment

I am BRAND NEW to asp.net. I have a file "view_blog.ascx so I believe this is the file you are referring to. I use the asp.net version of include to include this file into my homepage. So is this where I would do the expression thing. If so, how?

Also, would eliminating Javascript prevent the user from inserting URL's?

Thanks...

Comment

Whatever the form field is that the user uses to insert their text, should post to your server as a string.

In your .NET code, you'll find a variable that requests this text.

This request variable will be a string - you can then modify the string accordingly.

I think you totally misunderstood the last post, you don't want to "Eliminate JavaScript" - you just want to prevent potentially malicious users from putting scripts in their posts that will be executed when people view your page, or forum thread.

Are you familiar with any server-side languages, or the difference between server-side and client-side? Perhaps we should back up a bit and start there.

Also, if you're using a preformed .NET blog system, it should have something like that built in... you could just use Server.HTMLEncode(yourStringHere) otherwise, and that should do the trick...
        Former ASP Forum Moderator - I'm back!

If you can teach yourself how to learn, you can learn anything. ;)

Comment