Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• set session var onclick

Not sure if this is a asp or javascript question -

I have a master details page with a button that goes to an edit page by passing the id number as a url param, but I dont want users to be able to change this number in the address bar and edit other information.

Can I pass a session variable instead? - how do I set the session var to the id of the record requested?

monkey
    Monkey

My head hurts!

Use POST to submit your form instead of GET (the default). Then use Request.Form instead of Request.QueryString to retrieve the values.

Using POST, your form variables aren't a part of the URL and therefore cannot be modified by the user just by fooling around in the address bar.
    Check out the Forum Search. It's the short path to getting great results from this forum.

Comment

Roy

i wasnt using a form, I used :

a href="page.asp?id="<%recordset.fields.item("id").value%>"

I suppose a form is going to be the best way forward

Cheers

monkey
      Last edited by Boxhead; Feb 10, 2004, 10:54 AM.
      Monkey

My head hurts!

Comment

It's easy enough to put a hidden form on the page and drop the data into that instead so yes, go with a form. It still won't stop someone from saving your source, editing the saved source and then posting that but it does increase the difficulty level. Usually though the worry is someone messing up the url by accident.
        Check out the Forum Search. It's the short path to getting great results from this forum.

Comment

The idea is that user can change their own details and not others in a CMS. I think the solution I am going to use will work like this -