linked list of points

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• linked list of points

Hi guys I need a little help on solving a problem I'm having with an assignment. What we have to do is make a linked list of points. The program should ask the user to enter as many points as they want then take those points and put them in a linked list and print out the linked list ordered by the x value.

I have a point class working that will let me plot points at different locations. I also have a linkedList class that I can create linked lists of integers from. I don't know how to get the linked list to hold each seperate point though.

Im attaching a zip file (4.4kb) that has my point class and linked list class. If anyone could please help me get on the right track that'd be great please. I have looked all over and can't really find any specific help about using a linked list with points.

I am new at this still, but am trying to learn it I just need some kind of example so I know what to do. Thanks.
    Attached Files

What you would do is make the data that your linked list holds from integers to your point class. The ideal way for the long term would be to make your linked list class templated so it could easily hold any sort of data you wanted. However if you haven't really worked with templates yet, that might not be the best idea for you. I don't have time right now to go over your code otherwise I would of given some more specific advice but that might at least get the ball rolling.
    OracleGuy

Comment

Yea I figured that, but I don't know how to do it. My linked list is templated, but I'm not sure how to make it hold more than just the basic data types we've been working with like int. I try to change it to my point class, but get there is no valid conversion errors. I'll attach how I tried to do it.
      Attached Files

Comment