port address explanation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• port address explanation

Please clarify what a port address is? I use specific port address for smtp and I see a different port address for my internet browsers. Is the port number I use for sending mail in my perl scripts dependent on the software application I am using?? For example if I use Cold Fusion to send mail I would use a Cold Fusion port number? But perl would use its own port number?

This would best be served/discussed in the Computer Hardware Forum.
    HTML & CSS Forum Moderator

"If you don't know what you think you know, then what do you know."
    R.I.P. Derrick Thomas #58
    1/1/1967 - 2/8/2000

Comment

Hello-

I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong as I am still learning this myself but-

Have a look here for a list of ports and the services \ applications that use them. Some ports are designated specifically for certain services. Any unassigned port above 1100 somthing (anyone?)can be used for anything you desire - ie. I use 7756 to force a port when playing Red Faction.

Hope That Helps,
      Basscyst
      Helping to build a bigger box. - Adam Matthews

Comment

that iana link is the best link you'll find....

to quote my Cisco CCNA Semester 1 book....

*digs it out*

aherm.. here we go....

*thumbs*
        Point-to-Point Protocol.....poison reverse update.....ah-ha! here it is: port.

port: 1. An interface on an internetworking device (such as a router). 2. In IP terminology, an upper-layer process that receives information from lower layers. Ports are numbered, and many are associated with a specific process. For example, SMTP is associated with port 25. A port number of this type is called a well-known address. 3. To rewrite software or microcode so that it will run on a different hardware platform or in a different software environment than that for which it was originally designed.