Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why XML? Newbie seeking answer!

Hi,

ALhtough XML has been around for such a long time, but this technology is still new to me as i have never ventured into this topic before.

May someone please explain to me why we use xml since we have a database or text file?

Is it because its faster or is there something so important about it!

I'm a newbie, please be kind to me...thanks to all!
    Warm Regards,
    Jacky

Did you see the sticky?
    Moderator @ WebDeveloper.com
    Mentor @ WebXpertz.net

Comment

See this thread: <http://codingforum.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32346> and the sticky Fred mentioned.

In short, for practical usage you store the data in a database, but represent the structure, either in the database or constructed from the database, as XML. There's technically no difference between a text file or a database text field and XML, except for that XML have non-data content that describes the structure of the data as well.