Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JavaScript/DHTML newbiew -- general questions

Hi all,

I am new to Web programming, most of the time have done GUI development in C++/MFC and played a bit with Java/Swing.
    I have read about DHTML and its ability to enable interactive Web applications.
    Before delving into DHTML programming I would like to know what are the surprises; people in my group ask the following questions:

1. Why do we need this DHTML stuff? (after all, we already have Java)
    2. Does it work across browsers?
    3. Are there any development tools that support DHTML programming?
    4. Can we use DHTML to develop GUI applications like we do with Java?

Thanks for your time,
    Sergiu.

DHTML is just Javascript + HTML + CSS.
    Forget style. Code to semantics. Seperate style from structure, and structure from behaviour.
    I code to specs, and test only in Firefox (unless stated otherwise).

Comment

DHTML is more a way to use both javascript (in fact ECMAScript +DOM) and CSS. DHTML has nothing to do with java.

Now the responses to your question

1. Javascript is a client-side language. Java is a server-side language. They have nothing at all in common (javascript resembles rather with C++ or php) except the name, which, at a time, was a "brand" affair (Netscape - the LiveScript owner - joined in mid 90's it's efforts with Sun - the Java owner - to stop Microsoft monopoly, and renamed their client script language javascript in order to emphasize this partnership).

Javascript is a powerfull object-oriented-on language. It uses functions, methods and operators to create/modify/remove web page's objects(elements) and their attributes. Javascript does not uses classes, but it may create a sort of "pseudoclasses" if needed. It is a very flexible language.

Javascript is an open-language. It cooperates quite well with other languages oriented on DB admin (XML, php, asp...) or "active" objects (ActiveX, XMLHttp)