setting main window's resizability..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• setting main window's resizability..

ok, I know i can use window.open() to open a window from my main page, and there i can declair if the window is resizable or not. This is not what i am trying to do..... for all of you who may be thinking that.

I am trying to set the width and height of my main window, and once set keep the user from resizing it. (not a child window/pop-up) but the parent window.

I have never tried doing this before, and cant actually say i have ever seen someone do it, so i'm not sure if it can be done.

thanx in advance for any help.
    I make no attempt at pretending like I'm a professional. I offer help with what knowledge I do have.

Your visitors set their main window size and decide whether you can resize popup windows. They have the final say on window sizes since it is their browser. You can try to set popup window sizes which will work if your visitors allow it but you can't change the size of their main window. The browser owner always has the final say on everything except the actual content of your web page.
    Stephen
    Learn Modern JavaScript - http://javascriptexample.net/
    Helping others to solve their computer problem at http://www.felgall.com/

Don't forget to start your JavaScript code with "use strict"; which makes it easier to find errors in your code.

Comment

Why would you want to do this? Let me guess you can't get your site to look the same at all resolutions?
      ||||If you are getting paid to do a job, don't ask for help on it!||||

Comment

to answer your question...

I am actually making a small HTA program.

because it is a .hta file, when it opens all you see is the window frame and the window title bar with the minimize, resize, and close buttons.