Looking for a good way to organize Javascripts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for a good way to organize Javascripts

I am new to javascripts, and I am not particularly crazy about putting scripts in my html page and using it right afterwards. I am somewhat @[email protected] in my desire to separate code from content from layout. What is the best way to separate all my javascript functions in a different file and then being able to call it whenever I want.

I thought that I might be able to write
    <script language="javascript" src=".../javascripts/functions.js"></script>

in the head of the document, but apparently I don't understand the syntax. I am trying to learn from the beginning so I am getting pieces of information here and there, I think I got that idea from an example, and I tried to copy it, like a good programmer, and I guess I wasn't copying it properly.

Can somebody tell me there way of separating javascripts from the html, and being able to use it on command.

OK, I'll give it a shot, but don't anyone shoot me!

You're on the right track with this:
    Code:
    <script language="javascript" src="/javascripts/functions.js"></script>
    Relative file paths
    The file path in the src='yourfilepath' is relative to the file which contains this reference. In other words you are saying "look in the subdirectory "javascripts", which is at the same "level" as ME (i.e. "javascripts" folder and ME are in the same folder/subdirectory), and get the file called "functions.js"

The file "functions.js" should NOT have the <script> tag in it. You've provided it here already. You should name javascript files with a ".js" extension (and so you do).

"Protecting Namespace"
    You should consider the impact of global variables when the file in imported. A global variable could be named the same as another global variable, maybe from another "include" file, and you'll never know.