Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "I'm a newbie...be gentle"

Alrighty,

I have a big question for anyone who thinks they might be able to tackle it.

Is it possible to create a javascript for html that will close the window unless their history shows that they came from a specific page?

I'll explain further. I have a password page, call it password.html. I also have the protected page, call it protected.html. I have a Macromedia Flash password gate on my password.html page to get to protected.html. This is because my server does not allow a .htaccess folder (it's cheap) so I found a way around that. Unfortunately, people using a public computer leave protected.html in the history, which anyone can click on and visit. I want to find a way to make it so that only someone coming from password.html can see that page. I guess the script would be something like what follows:

if history:javascript back 1=password.html
    do nothing
    else
    document.write=access denied
    window.self.close

Of course, I know nothing about writing javascript language, so what I just said might be like swearing in sign language without realizing it. :P Thanks for your patience and time.

-Javawhat

Well... Let's see, it might be some solutions, I though at:

insert your protected.html in an iframe on password.html. In fact open it in an iframe only if password application is passed.

If so, you may use a small javascript code to verify if the page protected was open within that iframe. If not, self close or redirect to password.html

try this in head of protected.html

<script>
    function redir(){
    if(parent.frames.length==0){
    self.close();
    }
    }
    </script>

or

<script>
    function redir(){
    window.location="password.html";
    }
    }
    </script>

Anyway, if user has javascript disabled, that code is usless... A server-side application would be safer.
    KOR
    Offshore programming

Comment