Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter need to process a form without a server... - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

need to process a form without a server...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need to process a form without a server...

hi, this is my first time posting here. i've got an assignment here at work and i'm the newly designated web guy. i'm a graphic designer first and a web guy second. i have been reading javascript tutorials and taken an intro to programming course a couple years ago so i'm familiar with the fundamentals of programming and i'm familiar with html. now that that's out of the way, on to the problem:

I have to develop an html-based form that has a series of questions on it. My company develops speech assistance devices. The form has 2 sections. In section one, each question has 3 possible choices and in section 2, each question is a yes/no answer. when each question is answered there is a point assigned to the devices (i have) listed under each answer (on the flowchart).

An example would be: " what age group is the patient/you in? [Preschool] [Elementary School] [High School/Adult] "
    Answer Values:
    [Preschool] = A, D > one point awarded to each A and D
    [Elementary] = C, D, E, F > one point awarded to each C D E and F
    [High School/Adult] = B, C, F > one point awarded to each B C and F

All of the questions would have the same set up, each awarding a point to each device in that category's possible answers. These variables are in an array and hold the points as they're added, then sorts the list in reverse descending order by number (bigger to smaller) to rate the devices.

now, this is going to be on a CD, so there's no way to use a server script or database to calculate the answer. What I need to do is have the form in one page and when you click "Submit" it sends/processes the values of the answers and displays the sorted list in the same page or in a new one.