Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic HTML/Javascript Question

Hey everyone,

I'm pretty new to coding--I have basic experience in HTML & CSS, and am currently learning Javascript. This might be a dumb question, but I don't understand how one incorporates Javascript into the actual HTML code...like, I know you use a <script> tag to incorporate it, but how do you connect the two (HTML and Javascript).

I'm working on a project where I need to create a 5-question quiz, but I don't understand how I will incorporate the Javascript to the HTML questions to make it do what I want it to do. Do I link the two via classes? More specifically, how do I link the specific Javascript code to the specific HTML code?

I know this question is a bit broad, but I really appreciate the help!

Thanks,
    TomTom

You can inline or link with the script tag or both.

Code:
    <script>
        // JavaScript inline here.
    </script>
    Link a JavaScript file.
    The file will run as soon as the browser reads the script tag.

Code:
    <script src="path/to/script.js"></script>
    The lecture or course reading should have described how to reference HTML elements using JavaScript. Once you have a reference you can get and change the attributes and values of a HTML element. So yes, you can get an element by it's class, id, or any other attributes which I why I recommended reviewing what's been covered so far since there are multiple paths to the solution.
    Last edited by Clock Out; Sep 18, 2016, 11:22 AM.

Comment

Let's try if this helps you:
      but how do you connect the two (HTML and Javascript).
      You can access a HTML element by giving an ID to it and using the function getElementById:
      Code:
      var ele = document.getElementById("id-of-html-element");
      After that the variable ele contains a Javascript representation of your HTML element. You can use this to modify the element, e. g. by altering the CSS:
      Code: