Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter Realising a GUI for command line options in a node script - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Realising a GUI for command line options in a node script

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Realising a GUI for command line options in a node script

I am very new to JavaScript so this task might be way over my head but I need to make a user interface for a preexisting JavaScript. This script is used with node.js and uses command line options to control it.
    My first thought, being the newbie that I am, was to use a simple HTML document that reads the possible options from the existing scripts and creates a grid that would display these options with dropdowns or input fields so they can be passed to the program. But now I am not sure how feasible that is.
    At one point in the script the Options are created like this:

Code:
    var program = require('commander');

program
    			.version('0.0.1')
    			.usage('[options] <inputFile1> [inputFile2] [...]')
    			.description(bla')
    			.option('-o, --output <filename>', 'Output filename')
    			.option('-m, --mode <mode>', 'bla')
    			.option('-c, --getTimeFromStat <file status name>', 'Guess first timestamp from file stat')
    			.option('-f, --filter <filter name>', 'Add filter', collect, [])
    			.option('-s, --stdout', 'bla')
    			.option('-n, --si', 'bla)
    			.option('-t, --txtp <plugin:option1=val1,option2=val2,...>', 'bla', collect, [])
    			.option('--bla', 'bla')
    			.option('-g, --gggversion', 'bla')
    			.option('--ts <ms>', 'bla')
    			.parse(this._argv);
    (ignore the "blas" and the like, just for anonymity purposes)

Am I correct in thinking that I can't get the options from the program object since the script would have to be started for the options to even exist?