The use of //<![CDATA[ vs <!--

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The use of //<![CDATA[ vs <!--

I'm a seasoned C++ programmer but this is my first experience with java scripts. I'm making a web site for my church and I added google maps to it. The code I added (works just fine) ...
    Code:
    <div id="map" style="width: 500px; height: 400px"></div>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    //<![CDATA[

var map = new GMap(document.getElementById("map"));
    map.addControl(new GSmallMapControl());
    map.centerAndZoom(new GPoint(-122.1419, 37.4419), 4);

//]]>
    </script>
    As I read up on java it says to use <!-- and //--> to hide your java code for browsers that don't support java. The below works as well.

Code:
    <!--

//-->
    </script>
    So my question is... what is //<![CDATA[ doing that <!-- isn't?

Check http://javascript.about.com/library/blxhtml.htm
    Digitalocean Cloud Hosting (Referral link - get $10 free credit) Fameco

Comment

Originally posted by GameCodingNinja View Post
      I'm a seasoned C++ programmer but this is my first experience with java scripts. I'm making a web site for my church and I added google maps to it. The code I added (works just fine) ...
      Code:
      //<![CDATA[

//]]>
      </script>
      As I read up on java it says to use <!-- and //--> to hide your java code for browsers that don't support java. The below works as well.

Code:
      <!--

//-->
      </script>
      So my question is... what is //<![CDATA[ doing that <!-- isn't?
      with javascript code you posted is no difference in using first form and second. The reason why you must use CDATA with xhtml is to avoid replacing invalid chars, from xml point of view, like <, >, & and ', with entities.
      So if your javascript don't have any of this chars inside you can get rid of CDATA.
      Using // or <!-- comments it's a matter of preferences.

best regards

Comment