Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter Help pulling up information off of Parallel Arrays by prompt method. - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help pulling up information off of Parallel Arrays by prompt method.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help pulling up information off of Parallel Arrays by prompt method.

Hi, I'm a newbie to JavaScript and i need help on one part of my code. I have 3 parallel arrays with the variables being id, name, and grade. I have to prompt a user to type in an id number and it will pull up the id, name, and grade associated with that id number. I've gotten the prompt and a while loop to make sure the entered ID is a number. But i'm not sure what to do from here. I need to use a for loop to pull up the info together.

Here's my code so far.
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    	var idnum=prompt("Please Enter ID","");

while(isNaN(idnum)){
    		alert("Sorry the entered ID is not a number. Please try again.");
    		idnum=prompt("Please Enter ID","");
    	}

for(var i=0; i<=4; i++){
    	}

document.write("<table border='1'><tr>");
    		document.write("<td>ID:</td>");
    		document.write("<td>"+idnum+ "</td>");

document.write("<tr>");
    		document.write("<td>Work:</td>");
    		document.write("<td>"+name[i]+ "</td>");

document.write("<tr>");
    		document.write("<td>Grade:</td>");
    		document.write("<td>" +grade[i]+ "</td>");
    		document.write("</table></tr>");
    There are 5 values for each variable in the arrays. The name and grade variables are pulling up nothing.

Well, first of all, you can't use document.write on a page that is already loaded. If you do, you will COMPLETELY ERASE the contents of the page and replace it with what you write. And, yes, that means you will erase the JavaScript code that is doing the document.write!

But aside from that, your code doesn't make sense.

You do
    Code:
    for(var i=0; i<=4; i++){
    	}