CSS centering problem in Firefox

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CSS centering problem in Firefox

I'm working on a horizontally fixed and vertically centered design using CSS at the moment. Here's what I've done so far.

As you can see I've placed all the site's content within a container which I am trying to center using body{text-align: center}. It works in IE but Firefox seems to be ignoring text-align and also my margin settings for some reason.

Also on my classes page, Firefox seems to be stretching the height of the table cells for some reason. I don't know why.

This is my first attempt at CSS so I'm sure I've just made a silly mistake somewhere. Anyhow, I'd appreciate it if anyone could help. Thanks!

use margin:auto; on the #container instead of margin:0; IE incorrectly uses text-align:center; to center divs. margin:auto; is the correct way. As for your tables expanding paragraphs have default margins and padding, you need to 0 those out or just not use a paragraph at all. I say not use one at all as they seem to serve no purpose on that page.
    ||||If you are getting paid to do a job, don't ask for help on it!||||

Comment

Tut tut…

I won't even ask what a masked rioter with flowers at his feet has to do with yoga.
      Change it to something else, something original and more relevant - and not only will increase the chances of fulfilling the brief suitably, but you'll also reduce the chances of yourself and/or your client being sued for copyright infringement.
      Last edited by Bill Posters; Sep 26, 2006, 12:03 PM.
      Why you should validate your code before asking for help...

Comment

Thanks, Arospace, that fixed it! I'd also like there to be no margin space above the top of the container. I've tried body{margin-top: 0px} but once again this works in IE but not in Firefox. Any ideas?