First website layout - Looking for feedback

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First website layout - Looking for feedback

Hi, I'm a novice HTML & CSS "student"(self-taught) and over the last day or so I've compiled a basic website layout for a fake Manufacturing company I made up. It's just the homepage, I know know it's EXTREMELY amateur, but I'm just looking for feedback, and all is appreciated! Thank you! I will attach the files so you can download them, but I will also post a JS bin link so you can view them in your browser. Works best with Google Chrome, as that is the scale I used when doing layout. When you go into JSBin make sure you look at is in Console only mode, or it will look a mess! Thank you!
    (Note: I recommend downloading it if you're really looking to help out & give the best feedback because you'll get the best view!
    Note: Navigation links DO NOT work they're just there for show, and I do plan on furthering this project based on your feedback!)

==Links==
    JSBin]JS Bin - Collaborative JavaScript Debugging
    [url="http://download1325.mediafire.com/necibr7l67wg/71tdtkfq3h9bxie/Hardline-Precisions.rar"]Direct Download(Media Fire[Download will start immediately])

Sorry for the errors! I don't know how to edit!

LINKS ----

Direct Download
    JS Bin

Comment

***and nav links do work, they just lead to blank pages :P

Comment

Ok, lets start with the biggest thing that I noticed.

Tables should NEVER be used for layout purposes. Period.

You should give divs a width and position them.

Also, drop all the inline styles, all CSS should be in, well, a CSS file. Thats why you have it.

Design wise, you will notice the clipping of the everything as you shrink the browser, as well as hard to read text due to a low contrast.

Your text color should be easily readable, so if you have a dark background like you do, white text would probably be better,

THIS vs THIS