Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Populating questions for form in HTML

Hi guys,

Thank you for reading this post and would kindly appreciate if someone can assist me with a form I am trying to create for work in HTML.

I would like to populate questions when selecting a category from a drop down list. So for example, when selecting "mobile phone" from the drop down list questions relating to that such as "Model" "telephone number" etc would generate when this is selected.

I have already created a drop down list using the following code -

<html>
    <body>

<form>

<select name="Category">

<option value="Mobile">Mobile</option>
    <option value="Laptop">Laptop</option>
    <option value="Headset">Headset</option>
    </select>

</form>

</body>
    </html>

By the way I am a complete novice and just want questions to come up when selecting any of these categories.

Thanks again

I would propose putting the questions into an object containing arrays of objects:
    Code:
    var questions = {
        Mobile: [
            {name: "question1", text:"Text of 1st question for Mobile"},
            {name: "question2", text: "Text of 2nd question for Mobile"},
            {name: "question3", text: "Text of 3rd question for Mobile"}
        ],
        Laptop: [
            {name: "question1", text:"Text of 1st question"},
            {name: "question2", text: "Text of 2nd question"},
            {name: "question3", text: "Text of 3rd question"}
        ],
        Headset: // and so on
    };
    Then create the input elements based on this structure. You will need the functions createElement and appendChild.
    And for-loops to scan the structure and build the elements:
    https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/..._and_iteration

Comment

Thanks so much Sempervivum although I can only use HTML with the application I am using and need a basic HTML code instead.

Comment

Originally posted by KeenLearner View Post