Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tables Question

Hello everyone

I am an HTML newbie and I maintain a website for a charity that was built by someone else. I have been teaching myself code to add bits and pieces to it. All has been going well until I needed to add a table of committee members/nominees to the AGM page and now the whole page has a black border, which the other pages haven't. It may be easier to see the page in order to see what I mean: AGM and Committee - if you look at the other pages you will see that they don't have the black lines. I have realised that it's probably because the whole page is built within a table (or as a table?) but I am not sure how to get rid of the black lines.

Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you!
    Medusa

You should not abuse a table for design purposes. Simple divs would do the same.
    The border is defined in line 50:
    Code:
    table, th, td {
        border: 1px solid black;
    }

Comment

that page REALLY has a lot of problems -- fixed width layout and tables for layout being just the tip of the iceberg. There's no doctype so browsers will try to render it in "quirks mode", basically making it harder to get a consistent appearance across different browsers. It's a hodge-podge of presentational markup -- a polite way of saying "using HTML incorrectly" -- with tags like <u> and <font> mated to attributes like BORDER, BGCOLOR, etc, that have ZERO business in any HTML written after 1997. It's got static presentation in the markup, images doing padding's job, paragraphs and bold around elements that should clearly be headings, headings around elements just because you wanted the text bigger (that's not what they MEAN)... it's the WORST of 1997 browser wars methodology.

I have to ask, just which WYSIWYG editor were you DUPED into using to create that. It clearly wasn't coded by anyone who learned to use HTML directly and properly.