Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best HTML Editor

Hi all,

I'm studying Business Information Systems, and will need an editor to write HTML, CSS, etc.

I know you can use notepad to write HTML, but I'd like to know what are your preferred choices to use as editors, and why.

Thanks in advance,

D.

Have a look at the Web Editors section of post #2 in this thread
    Music Around The World - Collecting tips, trade and want lists, album reviews, & more

Comment

In my opinion the best editor I've come across is Notepad++

https://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/v6.9.2.html

Comment

Originally posted by vinyl-junkie View Post
        Have a look at the Web Editors section of post #2 in this thread
        Which does nothing to answer the why -- and to be frank a LOT of the garbage on that list I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy; see anything with WYSIWYG even MENTIONED as part of it!

Of course, all of the links except the Wikipedia one being 404, not helping...

The question of "why" is actually a very good one -- and usually when asked you'll get people pointing at lists or mentioning their favorite, without saying WHY!

So, I'm going to say mine, and then I'm going to do what the OP asked, and say WHY!!!

My personal favorite is Flo's Notepad 2:
        flo's freeware - Notepad2

I like it because it's based on Scintilla without being a total piece of Scite. I say... I say... that's a joke son. The demo editor for the Scintilla project is literally named "Scite"..

The reason I use it is the same reason I used other notepad replacements in the past -- it lacks the fancy bells and whistles that either piss me off or get in my way, and the ones it does have I can turn OFF! To that end my previous editor choices -- Crimson Editor and Win32pad are fine and dandy choices as well.