Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter Background image not lining up with content. - CodingForum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Background image not lining up with content.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background image not lining up with content.

Ok so im building a mock site for a friend and i have created a bg image and stretched it accross the page and have just used a single slice image to show example content.

all is well untill i preview the site. (using dreamweaver btw) the bg image is fixed however the single image im using to show where the content headers etc etc will go has justted down about 10 px or so. Im a relative newbie to css and have looked at it and its displays the following for the (main_image) tag

main_image {
    position:fixed;
    top:-50px;
    }

i have included an image of what is happening so you guys could maybe help.

thanks

Ando

An image doesn't show your code.......

A link to your site would be much better.
    Teed

Comment

sorry,,

here is the site on my test folder.

http://venturidesigns.co.uk/cssforum/test/index.html

Comment

Originally posted by Ando1 View Post
        sorry,,

here is the site on my test folder.

http://venturidesigns.co.uk/cssforum/test/index.html
        Well I guess a quick fix would be to give #main_image a negative top margin of 8px.

margin-top: 8px;

Seems to work.

I have to ask though, are you working on a huge resolution computer? When I view your page, I can just barely see your menu before the page fold. I mean you created that image with 1066 x 1530 dimensions, which is rather large. Something you might want to address.
        Teed

Comment

Thanks i will try this..

i have used photoshop to design it and my computer resolution is 1280x800
          How would i fix this? i thought it was rather enlarged when i view it.

ps.. im using a resolution of 72 in photoshop

maybe ive been doing it all wrong lol!