Embedding HTML w/in HTML

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Embedding HTML w/in HTML

I want to put a list of HTML-formatted links in my page that can be edited from a single external source. Since I realize this is a bit hard to describe, here's an image:

You see the links on the left of the page? I'd like to be able to embed those, or a set of links like them, in the page from an external file. I do have CSS, and the links would be going into <div class="left">, if that makes any difference.

Attempted clarification note: I don't mind if it's static or dynamic; it's that this section will be undergoing a lot of editing, and I'd rather not have to do it manually in all 20+ pages I'll have to edit.

Maybe there's a better way than what I'm asking for. I'm very much self-taught in all this, over the past few weeks, and realize that there are significant gaps in what I know and understand, so any other suggestions that would accomplish the ease of editing that I'm looking for would be welcome.

*Side question: Is it possible to put HTML into CSS for it to show automatically with certain div classes? Note: Answered

Thank you so much for your time and help!

-'Dee

EDIT: I write my coding with a text editor and wouldn't have a clue how to use Dreamweaver or other software even if I had easy access to them, so please bear that in mind when offering suggestions. Thanks!
    Last edited by Carradee; Oct 10, 2006, 02:02 PM.

Addressing your side question: you cannot write HTML with CSS.

With regards to the main issue: what you seem to be asking for is the ability to dynamically append content to a file. You would need to use either SSI, PHP, XSLT, or frames. The first two require that your server be configured to use those and the last is the easiest, but worst, method of doing this as it causes numerous other problems. XSLT is probably the hardest since you need to learn a new language. Resources:

Comment

"seem to be asking"... Sorry for being vague.