X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Resolution Standards.

Hello, everyone...

This is my first post.

I have been a graphic designer and web developer for the past 5 years, I am however, experiencing difficulty finding info on general screen resolution standards. Last I checked it was 800x600.

I am designing a new site, but I need the 1024x768 real estate.

Can anyone verify this for me?

Thx

Jeffy

You can't rely on having 1024x768 - I don't have the figures, but they're beside the point anyway - you can't really rely on having 800x600 - there are lots of smaller devices out there - 640x480, 1024x480 ...

The best approach is to make a fluid design that works even at very low resolution. But if you really need a baseline, 800x600 is still it, and will probably stay like that for the foreseeable future - it's not just a case of technological advancement and having a better monitor - lots of people prefer that resolution.
    Last edited by brothercake; Feb 17, 2004, 09:50 AM.
    "Why bother with accessibility? ... Because deep down you know that the web is attractive to people who aren't exactly like you." - Joe Clark

Comment

I can see a climb to 1024x786 in the standard, but many will still use 800x600. Anyway, you should never count on that you can use the whole width anyway. For climbing higher in resolution, we either need to raise the screen sizes (I don't think we'll see that many > 23" screens in the future either) or to raise the DPI, which in effect means that graphics will be smaller, but text stay the same size relative to the screen size, for the same physical screen size.
      liorean <[[email protected]]>
      Articles: RegEx evolt wsabstract , Named Arguments
      Useful Threads: JavaScript Docs & Refs, FAQ - HTML & CSS Docs, FAQ - XML Doc & Refs
      Moz: JavaScript DOM Interfaces MSDN: JScript DHTML KDE: KJS KHTML Opera: Standards

Comment

I kinda Figured, but I just wanted to verify this.